‘MR should be appointed Opposition Leader’

Wednesday, 21 February 2018

Joint Opposition Parliamentarian Mahinda Rajapaksa should be appointed the opposition leader of Parliament, Joint Opposition members said in Parliament, yesterday. Joint Opposition Parliamentarian Dullas Alahapperuma said the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) was the only opposition in the world that attempted to protect the government.

They made these observations during a press conference headed by Joint Opposition Member Chamal Rajapaksa which was held at Committee Room number 4 in the Parliamentary Complex, yesterday.

MP Dullas Alahaperuma said the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) Secretary General and Deputy Speaker had stated that they had decided to quit the unity government. As the unity government was established for two years, the agreement is no longer valid. “The agreement expired one month and 19 days ago,” MP Alahapperuma said, “There is a Constitutional issue since there are more than 30 ministers and state ministers against the agreement.”

He added that with the election results, political and economic issues have been aggravated, creating instability in the country.

He also said that according to the new election law introduced by the government within the 340 local government institutions, a party which secured 50 percent or more could nominate the chairman. It removed the bonus seats for the winning parties.

“The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) won 232 institutions and out of them, we have no issue in establishing power in 153 institutions. But in 92 particular institutions, it is impossible for all parties to set up power.” He added that even the TNA’s popularity has dropped as Illankai Tamil Arasu Kachchi (ITAK) has been able to secure power.

Joint Opposition MP Kumara Welgama said that when they met President Maithripala Sirisena, the latter said he needed to refer to the Constitution before establishing another government under another Prime Minister.

JO members Keheliya Rambukwella, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Wimal Weerawansa, Dullas Alahapperuma, Chamal Rajapaksa, Udaya Gammanpila, Kumara Welgama, Bandula Gunawardena, and Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena were present at the meeting.