Pro-NCM Deputies to be independent in Parliament

Friday, 20 April 2018

The 10 SLFP Deputy Ministers and State Ministers who voted in favour of the No-Confidence Motion (NCM) against the Prime Minister will sit as an independent group of the SLFP when Parliament convenes after May 8. Speaking to the Daily News, former State Minister Lakshman Yapa Abeywardana stated that the ten SLFPers resigned from their positions to become independent.

“We do not have an issue with the SLFP or the UPFA. Therefore, there is no need to quit the party and pick sides,” Abeywardana stated when inquired about the possibility of switching sides to the Joint Opposition. The 10 SLFPers who resigned are Dilan Perera, Sumedha G.Jayasena, Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Lakshman Wasantha Perera, Thilanga Sumathipala, Chandima Weerakodi,Susantha Punchinilame, Anuradha Jayaratne and Tharanath Basnayake.