DMK MLAs evicted from Tamil Nadu Assembly: Palaniswami wins trust vote in empty House after bedlam

Saturday, 18 February 2017

Two days after he was sworn in as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu after a bitter power tussle in the ruling AIADMK, Edappadi K Palaniswami won a trust vote Saturday after chaotic scenes in the Assembly that led to the eviction of the main Opposition DMK and a walkout by its allies in protest — they together have 98 MLAs in the 234-member House. With no Opposition MLAs around, the government sailed through with a 122-11 score — legislators who owe allegiance to rival O Panneerselvam voted against Palaniswami who had earlier been given 15 days by Governor C Vidyasagar Rao to prove majority in the House.