Saturday, 9 December 2017

The two resolutions on the gazette notifications on the shareholder agreement on two joint venture businesses; Hambantota International Port Group (HIPG) and Hambantota International Port Services was passed with a majority of 65 votes.

Seventy two members voted in favour of the resolutions moved by Development Strategies and International Trade Minister Malik Samarawickrama while seven members voted against.

Five JVP MPs, Joint Opposition MPs Indika Anuruddha and Vijith Berugoda voted against the resolution. Although Joint Opposition Parliamentary Group Leader Dinesh Gunawardena was present in the House, he did not express his vote.

Following the vote, Leader of the House and Highways and Higher Education Minister Lakshman Kiriella said that it seemed that the Joint Opposition had not voted against.

The list of the names of the members who voted against was displayed later and MP Dinesh Gunawardena’s name was not among them.