Asela Gunasinghe wins CTC’s Prestigious Chairman’s Award

Ceylon Tobacco Company PLC (CTC) recently bestowed the company’s highest honour, the ‘Chairman’s Award 2023’, on Asela Gunasinghe, Factory Electrical Technician. The award recognises the outstanding personal contribution to the growth and development of the company during the year, from among all the company’s employees. 

Asela single handedly completed an emergency complex repair to CTC’s leaf processing machinery to ensure business continuity. The company recognized his exemplary leadership and drive in the delivery of business results and operating excellence.

“Winning the Chairman’s Award has been one of the greatest honours of my professional career and I am so happy to have been able to make a positive contribution to the company” said Asela. “At CTC, we are given the space to perform at our best and this award is a recognition of the enabling culture that has allowed me to take on the leadership of a challenging project and deliver exceptional results. I consider it a privilege that my work helped secure the sustainability of our company.”

Lakshitha Rajendra and Wijerathne Bandara were adjudged first and second runners up respectively, while the group award was won by a six-member team from Operations, comprising Yasantha Manukulasooriya, Vinoth Prasath, Harith Samarasinghe, Prashan Chinthaka, Sameera Mendis and Chandana Jagath, who were recognized for their exceptional skills across the manufacturing operations of the company.

Yasantha Manukulasooriya, SMD Manufacturing Manager, representing the Operations Team that won this award said, “2023 was a landmark year for the Operations function, with the team setting 23 new records in machinery performance. I am proud of my team for putting CTC on the map in the global sphere as they set a benchmark for BAT factories across Asia Pacific, Middle East, and Africa (APMEA).”

Monisha Abraham Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of CTC said, “I would like to congratulate all the winners and nominees this year. I am inspired by their commitment to elevate the business further, despite multiple challenges faced. At CTC, we take pride in nurturing talent that is empowered to responsibly take bold initiatives and transform the business, whilst furthering personal growth of our employees.”

CTC is an equal opportunity employer that recognizes the hard work and innovation of its people through their initiatives, inspiring employees to scale new heights and shape their thinking towards working proactively.

The winning team comprising (from left to right) Harith Samarasinghe, Vinoth Prasath, Sameera Mendis, Chandana Jagath, Prashan Chinthaka, and Yasantha Manukulasooriya, with Independent, Non-Executive Director, President’s Counsel Kushan D’Alwis and Monisha Abraham, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director.

Monisha Abraham, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of CTC, presenting the Chairman’s Award Trophy to the winner Asela Gunasinghe, in the presence of Independent, Non-Executive Director, President’s Counsel Kushan D’Alwis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *